Nevada Substance Use Treatment Facility Licensing and Operational Readiness
Nevada runs facility licensing and program certification as two separate systems, at two different agencies, and a residential operator needs both. Aava Healthcare Management Group helps owners, operators and development teams work out which approvals the service model actually requires, what has to be settled before an application is filed, and the operational readiness a license does not by itself create.
Two Tracks, Two Agencies, and Certification Is Not the License
Facility licensing and program certification are separate approvals administered through different Nevada agencies. Since 1 July 2025 they have sat in two different parent departments. Planning them as parallel workstreams reduces avoidable sequencing risk.
Facility licensing sits with the Nevada Health Authority, through its Health Care Purchasing and Compliance Division. The Authority was created by Senate Bill 494 of the 2025 session, signed 11 June 2025 and effective 1 July 2025, and health-facility licensing and compliance functions transferred to it from the Division of Public and Behavioral Health.
Program certification did not move. It remains with the Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Bureau of Behavioral Health Wellness and Prevention, branded Behavioral Health Certifications for Excellence in Nevada and administered through CASAT at the University of Nevada, Reno, under NRS 458 and NAC 458.
For a residential program, both are required. NAC 449.108(1) provides that a residential program must be certified by the Division, and that provision carries no funding qualifier — it is not limited to programs seeking public money. Certification is not the facility license and does not substitute for one. A program holding certification alone has not obtained permission to operate a residential facility, and a program holding the license alone has not satisfied NAC 449.108(1).
One practical consequence of the 2025 reorganization is worth stating plainly, because it creates a trap in the source material rather than in the law. Older Nevada forms, agency pages and even some statutes still use the previous department names and the previous certification branding. A document naming the older structure is not necessarily wrong about the requirement it describes, but it is not evidence of who administers that requirement today. Where this page names an agency, it names the current one.
Which Approvals Each Service Model Needs
The service model decides the pathway. Read this as an orientation to the questions worth asking early, not as a determination for any particular program.
| Service model | Chapter 449 facility license | Program certification | What decides it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Residential SUD treatment | Yes — facility for the treatment of alcohol or other substance use disorders | Yes | NRS 449.00455 defines the category around residential treatment. NAC 449.108(1) separately requires a residential program to be certified. Both tracks run, at two different agencies. |
| Social model detoxification inside a residential program | Covered by the residential license | Follows the residential program | NAC 449.121 permits it within a residential program offering detoxification services. No separate site and no separate facility license. |
| Modified medical detoxification | Yes — a separate license class | Analyzed separately | NAC 449.15311 to 449.15367. Materially different clinical infrastructure and a materially different fee. Not an increment to the residential license. |
| Medically managed intensive detoxification | Hospital | Analyzed separately | NAC 449.060. Delivered within a hospital rather than under any SUD facility class. |
| Standard outpatient SUD treatment | No Chapter 449 category captures it | Separate BHCEN certification analysis | NRS 449.00455 is residential in scope, and NRS 449.0151's medical-facility list contains no outpatient entry. |
| Intensive outpatient (IOP) | No Chapter 449 category captures it | Separate BHCEN certification analysis | Same analysis as standard outpatient. NAC 458.079 lists intensive outpatient counseling as a certifiable service. |
| Partial hospitalization (PHP) | No PHP-specific Chapter 449 category identified | Appears in the certification menu | Confirm the exact freestanding service model in writing with the Health Care Purchasing and Compliance Division before a lease or capital commitment. Hospital-based PHP runs within the hospital licensing structure. |
| Opioid treatment services | Yes — facility for treatment with narcotics | Yes — mandatory | NAC 458.257 requires certification for outpatient and ambulatory detoxification services together with licensure as a facility for treatment with narcotics. Federal requirements apply separately. |
Partial hospitalization is the one row in this table that carries a genuine open question, and it is marked as one rather than smoothed over. See the outpatient section below.
The Chapter 449 Residential Facility License
NRS 449.00455 defines a facility for the treatment of alcohol or other substance use disorders as an establishment which provides residential treatment. That single word does most of the work. The category is one of eight types of facility for the dependent listed at NRS 449.0045, and NRS 449.030 prohibits operating a facility for the dependent without first obtaining a license.
What follows is the operational substrate the license sits on. None of it is exotic, and all of it is examined.
Governing body and financial readiness. NAC 449.085 requires a governing body with written bylaws, appointment of a qualified administrator, adopted standards of service, approval of an annual budget, and meetings at least semiannually with minutes. It also requires a new facility to show sufficient resources to operate for 120 days. The regulation prescribes no evidentiary method for that showing — no cash threshold, no required form of financial statement, no working-capital formula. Because the standard is open, the practical work is assembling a coherent and defensible demonstration rather than hitting a stated number.
Insurance. NAC 449.105 requires liability insurance in a sufficient amount, with a certificate furnished to the Division that includes 30 days’ notice of cancellation or non-renewal. No minimum dollar amount is stated.
Records and reporting. Client records are retained for at least five years following discharge under NAC 449.150. NAC 449.098 requires a written disaster plan, posted evacuation diagrams, a disaster drill at least annually with records retained not less than 12 months, and notification of a fire or disaster within 24 hours.
Survey. NAC 449.0112 requires a pre-licensure survey and a satisfactory fire-inspection report before a license is issued. The survey examines the operating systems, which is why those systems exist before the survey rather than in response to it.
Administrator changes. On a change of administrator the licensee must notify the Division within 30 days and, where required, submit an application for a new license within 30 days. Failure triggers the applicable new-license application fee plus an additional fee equal to 50 percent of that fee. Whether a new application is required turns on the circumstances, so confirm which obligation applies before treating the change as a notice-only step.
Renewal. A health facility license expires one year after the date on which it was issued and may be renewed annually. This changed on 1 January 2026 under Assembly Bill 544 of the 2025 session. There is no universal fixed annual renewal date, and older guidance describing a single calendar deadline for all facilities describes the former system.
Certification is not transferable. NAC 458.133 provides that certification of a program is not transferable and may not be used for any other program. That is a material fact in any acquisition or multi-site plan, and it belongs in diligence rather than in the closing week.
Nevada Recognizes Four Detoxification Structures
Nevada does not regulate every form of detoxification as one service. Four structures exist, and they carry different licenses, different clinical infrastructure and different acuity limits.
Social model detoxification
Rule: NAC 449.121 to 449.1218 · Sits: Inside a residential program that offers detoxification services
No separate site and no separate facility license. A physical assessment and a review of general medical and drug history must be completed by a physician, nurse practitioner, registered nurse or physician assistant within 24 hours after admission. The model must not be used for clients who exhibit life-threatening symptoms of withdrawal — an acuity ceiling that belongs in the admission criteria and the transfer agreements before the first client arrives, not after.
Modified medical detoxification
Rule: NAC 449.15311 to 449.15367 · Sits: A separate Nevada facility license class
Twenty-four-hour nursing services supervised by a registered nurse; a chief administrative nurse who is an RN and is also authorized to provide alcohol and drug counselling; a medical director; and a physical examination within 48 hours of admission. The licensing fee is an order of magnitude above the residential SUD facility fee, which is the clearest signal that Nevada treats this as a different undertaking rather than an add-on.
Medically managed intensive detoxification
Rule: NAC 449.060 · Sits: Hospital
Delivered within a hospital rather than under any SUD facility class. Where a service model contemplates this acuity, the licensing question moves out of the SUD facility framework entirely.
Ambulatory detoxification
Rule: NAC 458.257 · Sits: A certification category, not a residential facility license
Ambulatory detoxification is addressed through program certification rather than through the ordinary residential facility license. NAC 458.257 also ties opioid treatment services to certification together with licensure as a facility for treatment with narcotics.
A vocabulary point that causes real confusion. Operators and clinicians use ASAM level language daily, and there is nothing wrong with that in a clinical setting. But Nevada does not use the terms clinically managed residential withdrawal management or medically monitored withdrawal management in NAC 449 or NAC 458, and the ASAM ladder does not map one to one onto Nevada’s license classes. A development plan written in ASAM labels has to be translated into Nevada categories before it can be filed, and that translation is where the acuity assumptions get tested.
Detoxification technicians. Nevada certifies detoxification technicians separately. Certification requires a high school diploma or equivalent, current CPR certification, six hours of Division-approved training, and passing an examination at 80 percent. The application fee is $25, certification expires after two years, and renewal requires six hours of continuing education and a $25 fee. The scope of practice under NAC 458.346 is limited to screening for safe withdrawal under Division criteria, obtaining and monitoring vital signs, and representing oneself as a detoxification technician. A detoxification technician is not a substitute for nursing or for a licensed clinician, and a staffing plan that leans on the role beyond that scope will not survive examination.
Outpatient, IOP and PHP
Standard outpatient and IOP. Ordinary standalone SUD outpatient and intensive outpatient services do not fall within the residential facility definition at NRS 449.00455, and no Chapter 449 facility-license category captures them. NRS 449.0151’s list of seventeen medical facility categories contains no outpatient, intensive outpatient or partial hospitalization entry, and NAC 449 contains no such licensing category. The boundary here is drawn by statutory text rather than by agency discretion, which is why it is stated plainly.
Certification is separate from Chapter 449 facility licensure. NAC 458.079 lists outpatient counseling and intensive outpatient counseling among Nevada’s certifiable treatment services. BHCEN certification should be assessed separately from the Chapter 449 facility-license analysis.
Partial hospitalization. No PHP-specific Chapter 449 facility-license category has been identified, and partial hospitalization appears in the certification menu rather than among the license classes. Hospital-based partial hospitalization operates within the applicable hospital licensing structure.
No PHP-specific Chapter 449 facility-license category has been identified. However, this page does not categorically state that every freestanding PHP configuration falls outside the Health Care Purchasing and Compliance Division’s jurisdiction. Confirm the exact freestanding service model in writing with the licensing division before signing a lease or committing capital.
Opioid treatment services are a separate pathway. NAC 458.257 requires both certification for outpatient and ambulatory detoxification services and licensure as a facility for treatment with narcotics. Federal requirements apply on top of the state layers. This page does not attempt a full opioid treatment program guide, and an operator planning one should treat it as its own workstream rather than as a variation on outpatient licensing.
2026 Licensing and Certification Fees
Facility licensing fees and program certification fees are separate charges to separate agencies. Both belong in the opening budget.
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Initial license, per facility | $837 |
| Initial license, per bed | $203 |
| Renewal, per facility | $418 |
| Renewal, per bed | $102 |
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Initial license, per facility | $10,657 |
| Initial license, per bed | $529 |
| Renewal, per facility | $5,329 |
| Renewal, per bed | $264 |
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| License modification or new license application | $268 |
| Increase in beds at an SUD facility | $268 plus $203 for each additional bed |
| Program certification, each level of service | $100, initial and recertification, per service at each geographic location |
| Program certification endorsement | $50 for each geographic location certified with an endorsement |
| Detoxification technician application | $25 |
| Detoxification technician renewal, every two years | $25 |
Facility licensing fees are set by NAC 449.016 and NAC 449.0168 as amended by LCB File No. R071-26, filed 1 July 2026. Program certification fees are set by NAC 458.138. Because certification is charged per level of service and applied for per service at each geographic location, a multi-level program across two sites multiplies rather than aggregates.
One warning worth taking seriously. Older undated Nevada agency documents remain online displaying superseded fee figures. Verify the current amount against the controlling regulation, or with the licensing authority, before remitting payment — including against this page, which is a secondary source like any other.
What Nevada Requires, and What It Does Not
Nevada prescribes no general staff-to-client ratio for this facility category. NAC 449.114 requires staff on duty, all hours of each day, sufficient in number and qualifications to carry out policies, responsibilities and program continuity. That is the standard as written, and converting it into a numeric ratio would be inventing a requirement Nevada has not stated.
This matters commercially because a ratio does exist elsewhere in NAC 449 — in the Residential Facilities for Groups subpart, which governs a different category and does not apply here. Importing those numbers into an SUD facility staffing plan produces a model that is both wrong and, usually, more expensive than the rule requires.
Three specific requirements are worth naming because they are concrete rather than open. NAC 449.141(7) requires one staff person capable of providing cardiopulmonary resuscitation in the facility at all times. NAC 449.144 provides that staff may not administer medication unless licensed to do so. And modified medical detoxification carries materially different nursing requirements from ordinary residential treatment, as set out above.
Counselling personnel must meet the applicable Nevada credential standards. This page does not reproduce the credential ladder, which is a professional-licensure matter running through its own board rather than a facility-licensure matter, and it does not state an education or licensure requirement for the facility administrator beyond the qualified administrator language in NAC 449.085 — a question on which the regulation admits more than one reading and which should be settled with the licensing division rather than assumed.
The Building Decisions That Are Hard to Reverse
Sleeping rooms. NAC 449.132(3) requires a minimum of 50 square feet per bed in sleeping rooms. NAC 449.132 also prohibits sleeping in basements and prohibits occupancy of rooms accessible only by ladder, folding stairs or trapdoor.
The 16-or-17 threshold. NAC 449.129(3) assigns NFPA 101 Lodging or Rooming Houses requirements to facilities with 16 or fewer clients, and New Hotels and Dormitories requirements to facilities with 17 or more. This is a facility-design consideration that sits underneath the census decision, and it is better examined while the capacity is still a number on a page. This page does not publish an NFPA edition year, because Nevada sources currently conflict on which edition governs — the threshold is settled, the edition is not.
Codes. NAC 449.129(2) requires compliance with all currently adopted life safety, fire, local building and zoning codes. Where state and local codes differ, the more stringent standard controls.
Fire. NAC 477.740 gives the State Fire Marshal plan-review jurisdiction over any health and care facility licensed by the State, with no population qualifier, and a Certificate of Compliance must be obtained before a building is occupied. Facility licensing depends on a satisfactory fire and life-safety review. Local fire and building requirements may apply as well, so this is not a question of choosing between the state and the local authority.
Plan review. Plan review clearly applies to relevant construction, remodelling, additions, changes of use, changes in beds or services, fixed-equipment modifications and similar work. Requirements for a first-time licensee occupying an existing building are less clear-cut, and the sensible course is to confirm that position with the licensing division before capital is committed rather than to assume either that review is always triggered or that an existing building avoids it.
Zoning. Evidence of local zoning approval or local authorization is part of the state licensing process, and the specific requirement differs by jurisdiction. NRS 278.02377 requires local single-family-residence definitions to include certain small group and recovery homes, and it carries resident-count limitations — fewer than 11 residents for two of the three protected categories. It is a protection for those specified categories rather than a general zoning rule for licensed SUD treatment facilities, and it should not be read as one. This page does not publish a use classification for any particular city or county, because the available material is not current enough to support one. Confirm the proposed use with the city or county before signing a long-term lease or committing to substantial tenant improvements.
NRS 439A Applies Conditionally, Not Statewide
Nevada’s construction review is neither absent nor universal, and both shorthand answers mislead. Under NRS 439A.100 the review applies only in a county with a population under 100,000, or in an incorporated city or unincorporated town with a population under 25,000 located in a county of 100,000 or more. It then applies only to new-construction expenditure above the greater of $2,000,000 or an amount the Authority specifies by regulation. The $2,000,000 figure is not inflation-indexed.
The practical effect is that ordinary Las Vegas and Reno projects generally fall outside the geographic gate, so the expenditure threshold never becomes a live question for them. Rural sites and smaller municipalities need the analysis run on their own facts. The case worth watching is the small incorporated city or unincorporated town located inside a large county — the geography test can catch a project that the county-level figure alone would suggest is exempt.
One definitional point is settled. A substance use disorder treatment facility is a health facility for the purposes of NRS Chapter 439A: NRS 439A.015 defines a health facility as one in or through which health services are provided, and NRS 439A.017 states that health services include treatment of patients for alcohol or other substance use disorders. The limits on the review are geographic and financial, not definitional.
Where Licensure and Certification Meet Coverage
Nevada’s facility-conditioned mandated SUD treatment benefit exists in NRS 689A.046, which applies to individual health insurance, and NRS 689C.167, which applies to small employer coverage. It does not run across every Nevada commercial insurance chapter — NRS 689B, 695B, 695C and 695G contain no facility-based SUD treatment mandate. One adjacent provision is frequently miscited: NRS 695G.174 concerns sickle cell disease, not substance use disorder.
Where that gate applies, the qualifying structure is one of two routes. The first is program certification as a facility for the treatment of alcohol or substance use disorder. The second is qualifying Nevada facility licensure — as a hospital, other medical facility or facility for the dependent — together with accreditation by The Joint Commission or CARF International and operation of an SUD treatment program. This is the one place in the Nevada framework where national accreditation carries statutory force.
Two clarifications keep this in proportion. Medicaid enrolment is not a condition of this gate. It is an insurance-code provision, so it binds an operator who never seeks Medicaid participation at all. And the second route is not a way around NAC 449.108. The insurance statutes answer a coverage-qualification question; NAC 449.108 answers an operating-requirement question. A residential program still needs certification to operate regardless of which route it uses for coverage purposes.
Clearing a statutory coverage gate is also not the same as being in a payer’s network. Payer credentialing is a separate process with its own criteria, subject to each payer’s prerequisites and sequencing, and contracting terms are a separate commercial matter again. These are distinct layers and are best planned as distinct workstreams.
A structural note on reach rather than on rates. ERISA self-funded plans are not reached by these Nevada insurance mandates. That is a statement about the reach of the state insurance mandate, not about facility licensure, payer behavior or what any program will be paid. This page publishes no reimbursement figures.
Accreditation, Confidentiality and Co-Occurring Care
Accreditation. No Nevada statute or regulation located requires national accreditation for state facility licensure or for state program certification, and no deemed-status provision was found in NAC 449 or NAC 458. Accreditation does not substitute for licensure. It becomes relevant in the insurance gate described above, and separately through private payer credentialing, where individual payers set their own criteria.
Confidentiality. NAC 449.091(2) adopts 42 CFR Part 2 by reference for information released on transfer of a client, which makes the federal substance use confidentiality rule a state licensure matter as well as a federal one. The compliance date for the 2024 federal Part 2 final rule was 16 February 2026 and has passed. A new program should therefore build its consent, release and disclosure workflows against the current rule rather than adopting a forms packet assembled before that date.
Co-occurring care. NAC 458.255 sets co-occurring capable and co-occurring enhanced as certification criteria rather than license categories, and one facility license covers co-occurring treatment. Treating co-occurring conditions inside an SUD program does not by itself create a separately named Chapter 449 co-occurring license category. Where a mental-health residential service line becomes the primary service rather than a component, the licensing analysis changes character, and that is a question to put to the licensing division rather than to resolve from a general principle.
A boundary worth marking so the categories are not conflated. Nevada created a separate provider of rehabilitative residential mental health care license category through Assembly Bill 514 of the 2025 session, operative 1 July 2026, on the facility-for-the-dependent track. It is a mental-health category, not a substance use disorder category, and it is not the license a residential SUD program applies for.
A Defensible Order of Operations
No statutory processing-time guarantee was identified for the facility license, so no duration is published here. What can be sequenced is the work itself.
1. Define the service model and intended levels of care
Everything downstream follows from this. Whether the program is residential decides whether a facility license is needed at all. Whether it offers opioid treatment services introduces a second, different license class. Whether withdrawal management is social model or modified medical decides the clinical infrastructure and the fee. Whether the bed count lands at 16 or at 17 changes the life-safety classification.
2. Determine whether the site and service trigger Chapter 449 licensure
The residential test at NRS 449.00455 is the gate. Programs that sit outside it still face the certification question, and opioid treatment services sit outside the ordinary analysis altogether.
3. Confirm local zoning and use feasibility before the lease
Evidence of local zoning approval or local authorization is part of the state licensing process, and local requirements differ by jurisdiction. Confirm zoning and permitted use before committing to a lease or substantial tenant improvements.
4. Establish the physical plant, plan review and fire implications
Sleeping-room area, the 16-or-17 client threshold, the State Fire Marshal's role and the Certificate of Compliance all belong here, before tenant improvements are committed.
5. Establish entity, governance and financial-readiness documentation
A governing body with written bylaws, a qualified administrator, adopted standards of service, an approved annual budget, and the showing that a new facility has sufficient resources to operate for 120 days.
6. Develop the Chapter 449 facility policies and operating systems
Admissions and discharge, client rights, confidentiality, medication handling, records retention, disaster planning and the annual program review. These are examined at survey, so they exist before survey rather than in response to it.
7. Begin the certification track in parallel where applicable
Certification runs at a different agency from licensing. For a residential program it is not optional, so it belongs on the critical path from the outset rather than after the facility application is filed.
8. Recruit and credential the required personnel
Counselling staff credentials, CPR coverage, medication authorization, and — for modified medical detoxification — the nursing and medical-director structure that class requires.
9. Complete the facility application and supporting documents
Filed at myhealthfacilitylicense.nv.gov, with the current fee. Confirm the fee against the current regulation rather than against a downloaded schedule.
10. Prepare for the pre-licensure survey and fire review
A pre-licensure survey and a satisfactory fire-inspection report both precede issuance. Preparation is a rehearsal of the operating systems, not a document hunt.
11. Resolve deficiencies where applicable
Where a statement of deficiencies is issued, the plan of correction is itself an operational document and is read as evidence of how the program will run.
12. Complete payer credentialing and launch readiness separately
Payer credentialing is separate from state licensure and should be planned as its own workstream, subject to each payer's prerequisites and sequencing.
One number on this page is routinely misread as a timeline and is not one. The 120 days in NAC 449.085 is a showing that a new facility has sufficient resources to operate for that period. It is a financial-readiness requirement and says nothing about how long licensing takes.
Failure Points Grounded in the Requirements
- Treating program certification and the facility license as the same approval. They are two tracks at two agencies, and for a residential program both are required.
- Budgeting or remitting from a downloaded Nevada fee schedule. Undated agency documents remain in circulation showing figures that the current regulation has superseded. Verify the current amount against the controlling regulation or the licensing authority before remitting payment.
- Assuming every form of detoxification follows one pathway. Nevada recognizes four structures with materially different staffing, acuity limits and licensing consequences.
- Importing ASAM level labels into Nevada license categories. Operators use that vocabulary daily; Nevada's license classes do not, and the mapping is not one to one.
- Signing a lease before confirming local zoning and use. Local authorization is part of the state process, and the requirement varies by jurisdiction.
- Applying the Residential Facilities for Groups staffing ratios to an SUD treatment facility. Those ratios belong to a different subpart and do not govern this category.
- Running a confidentiality and consent workflow built on pre-2026 forms. The federal compliance date has passed, and Nevada adopts the federal rule by reference on transfer of a client.
- Saying Nevada has no certificate of need, or that it requires one. Neither is accurate; the review is conditioned on geography and expenditure.
- Assuming national accreditation satisfies a state licensing or certification requirement. It does not, though it becomes relevant in a specific statutory place described below.
- Assuming outpatient, IOP and PHP receive identical licensing treatment. Two of the three are settled; the third warrants a written determination before capital is committed.
Coordinated Work Across Both Tracks
Aava coordinates the licensing and certification tracks in parallel and helps resolve service-model questions before site and capital commitments. That is coordination work rather than legal work: licensing pathway and readiness planning, service-model and level-of-care mapping, application coordination, policies and procedures, clinical documentation workflows, staffing and credential readiness, site, zoning and fire coordination, survey preparation, deficiency remediation, accreditation readiness where applicable, and payer-facing operational readiness.
Aava Healthcare Management Group is a healthcare management and operating company, not a law firm, and nothing here is legal advice. Licensing and certification decisions belong to the State of Nevada. No approval, inspection result, accreditation outcome, payer contract or processing time is guaranteed.
Primary Nevada and Federal Sources
- Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 449 — Medical Facilities and Other Related Entities — Nevada Legislature
- Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 449 — Medical and Other Related Facilities — Nevada Legislature
- Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 458 — Abuse of Alcohol and Drugs — Nevada Legislature
- Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 458 — Abuse of Alcohol and Drugs — Nevada Legislature
- Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 439A — Health Planning and Development — Nevada Legislature
- Approved Regulation of the State Board of Health, LCB File No. R071-26 — Nevada Legislature
- Approved Regulation of the State Board of Health, LCB File No. R089-24 — Nevada Legislature
- Assembly Bill 544 (2025), Chapter 281 — enrolled — Nevada Legislature
- Assembly Bill 514 (2025) — enrolled — Nevada Legislature
- Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 477 — State Fire Marshal — Nevada Legislature
- Application documents for alcohol and drug treatment facilities — initial and change of ownership checklist — Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health
- 42 CFR Part 2 — Confidentiality of Substance Use Disorder Patient Records — U.S. Government Publishing Office, Electronic Code of Federal Regulations
- Senate Bill 494 (2025), Second Reprint — creation of the Nevada Health Authority — Nevada Legislature
- Web Announcement 3661 — Nevada Health Authority launch, 1 July 2025 — Nevada Medicaid, Division of Health Care Financing and Policy
- Health Care Quality and Compliance — transfer notice — Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health
- Health Care Purchasing and Compliance regulations — public workshop notice and agenda — Nevada Health Authority
- Certification Home — behavioral health program certification — Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Bureau of Behavioral Health Wellness and Prevention
- About certification — Behavioral Health Certifications for Excellence in Nevada (BHCEN) — Center for the Application of Substance Abuse Technologies, University of Nevada, Reno
- Facility for the treatment of abuse of alcohol or drugs — facility licensing page — Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health
Three limits are stated rather than hidden. Nevada reorganized its health agencies on 1 July 2025, and older official pages, forms and statutory text still carry the previous department names and the previous certification branding — a document remaining reachable online is not evidence that its agency attribution is current. Nevada also amended the facility fee regulation on 1 July 2026, and undated agency fee documents displaying the earlier figures remain in circulation, which is why no superseded figure is reproduced here even for comparison. And several questions examined during the preparation of this page were left open rather than resolved — the operative life-safety code edition, the plan-review position for a first-time licensee in an existing building, and the jurisdictional treatment of a freestanding partial hospitalization program among them. Where this page is silent on a point an operator needs, that silence is usually deliberate. Confirm current requirements with the Nevada Health Authority, with the Division of Public and Behavioral Health, and with current codified statute and regulation rather than from any secondary source, including this page.
Important Information and Disclaimer
This publication is provided by Aava Healthcare Management Group for general informational and operational-planning purposes only. It reflects information and official sources available as of the stated last-reviewed date. Federal, state, and local laws, regulations, licensing standards, accreditation requirements, agency interpretations, forms, procedures, and policies may change after publication.
This material is not intended to be—and should not be relied upon as—a complete or definitive statement of applicable law, regulation, policy, licensing requirements, accreditation standards, or facility-specific obligations. It does not constitute legal, regulatory, clinical, medical, tax, accounting, architectural, zoning, fire-code, or other professional advice.
Requirements may differ based on jurisdiction, facility type, ownership structure, services offered, level of care, payer participation, physical location, and other facts. Readers should independently verify current requirements with the appropriate federal, state, and local authorities and consult qualified legal or other professional advisers when necessary.
Aava Healthcare Management Group is not a government agency, accrediting organization, law firm, or healthcare provider. References or links to government agencies, statutes, regulations, forms, or accreditation organizations do not imply affiliation, authorization, endorsement, or approval.
Aava does not guarantee licensure, certification, accreditation, application acceptance, approval, processing time, eligibility, reimbursement, advertising approval, or any other outcome. Aava may assist organizations with operational planning, implementation readiness, management systems, and coordination with appropriate professionals, but contacting or engaging Aava does not replace confirmation with the responsible authority or advice from qualified counsel.
Readers should confirm current requirements directly with the responsible authority. Aava may assist with operational interpretation, readiness planning, implementation, and coordination with appropriate professional advisers.
Last reviewed: · Next scheduled review: November 1, 2026
Nevada Treatment Facility Licensing Questions
Can Aava Manage the Nevada SUD Facility Licensing and Certification Process?
Yes. Aava Healthcare Management Group can manage and coordinate the Nevada licensing and operational-readiness process, including licensing-pathway analysis across the residential, detoxification and outpatient models, application preparation and coordination, local zoning and site diligence, fire review and Certificate of Compliance sequencing, policies and procedures, staffing and credential readiness, pre-licensure survey readiness, deficiency remediation, and launch readiness. Because Nevada administers facility licensure and program certification through two different agencies, the Chapter 458 certification track is coordinated in parallel with the Chapter 449 facility license. Final licensing, certification, inspection and approval decisions remain with the applicable state and local authorities, and no approval or processing time is guaranteed.
Does Nevada Require a License for a Residential SUD Treatment Facility?
Yes. NRS 449.00455 defines a facility for the treatment of alcohol or other substance use disorders as an establishment which provides residential treatment, and that category is one of the eight types of facility for the dependent listed at NRS 449.0045. NRS 449.030 prohibits operating a facility for the dependent without first obtaining a license. Residential treatment is the defining feature of the category, which is why the licensing analysis for a Nevada program starts with whether the model is residential rather than with what the program is called.
Does Nevada Require Program Certification for Residential Treatment?
Yes. NAC 449.108(1) provides that a residential program must be certified by the Division, and that provision carries no funding qualifier. A residential operator therefore plans for two tracks: the Chapter 449 facility license and Chapter 458 program certification. They are administered by two different agencies. Certification is not the facility license and does not substitute for one, and a program holding certification alone has not obtained permission to operate a residential facility.
Who Licenses Nevada Substance Use Treatment Facilities?
Facility licensing sits with the Nevada Health Authority, through its Health Care Purchasing and Compliance Division. The Nevada Health Authority was created by Senate Bill 494 of the 2025 session, signed 11 June 2025 and effective 1 July 2025, and health-facility licensing and compliance functions transferred to it from the Division of Public and Behavioral Health. Program certification did not move: it remains with the Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Bureau of Behavioral Health Wellness and Prevention, branded Behavioral Health Certifications for Excellence in Nevada and administered through CASAT at the University of Nevada, Reno. Because the two functions now sit in different departments, an operator pursuing both is dealing with two separate parent agencies.
Does Nevada Require a Separate Detox License?
It depends entirely on which form of withdrawal management is planned. Social model detoxification may be offered inside a residential program that offers detoxification services, without a separate site and without a separate facility license. Modified medical detoxification is a separate Nevada facility license class with its own requirements and its own much higher fee. Medically managed intensive detoxification is delivered in a hospital. Ambulatory detoxification is addressed through program certification rather than the ordinary residential facility license. So the question is not whether Nevada licenses detox, but which of four structures the clinical model actually describes.
What Is the Difference Between Social Model Detox and Modified Medical Detox in Nevada?
Acuity and infrastructure. Social model detoxification operates within a residential program and requires a physical assessment and review of general medical and drug history by a physician, nurse practitioner, registered nurse or physician assistant within 24 hours after admission. It must not be used for clients who exhibit life-threatening symptoms of withdrawal. Modified medical detoxification is a separate license class requiring twenty-four-hour nursing services supervised by a registered nurse, a chief administrative nurse who is an RN and is also authorized to provide alcohol and drug counseling, a medical director, and a physical examination within 48 hours of admission. The licensing fee difference between the two is not marginal, which is itself a signal that Nevada treats them as different undertakings rather than as adjacent tiers.
Does Nevada License IOP Programs?
Not as a facility class. NRS 449.00455 is residential in scope, NRS 449.0151's list of seventeen medical facility categories contains no intensive outpatient entry, and NAC 449 contains no licensing category for intensive outpatient. An ordinary standalone SUD intensive outpatient program therefore does not fall within the residential facility definition and does not require a Chapter 449 facility license. Certification is separate from Chapter 449 facility licensure. NAC 458.079 lists outpatient counseling and intensive outpatient counseling among Nevada's certifiable treatment services. BHCEN certification should be assessed separately from the Chapter 449 facility-license analysis.
Does Nevada Require a License for PHP?
No PHP-specific Chapter 449 facility license category has been identified, and partial hospitalization appears in the certification menu rather than among the facility license classes. Hospital-based partial hospitalization operates within the applicable hospital licensing structure. However, this does not categorically establish that every freestanding PHP configuration falls outside the Health Care Purchasing and Compliance Division's jurisdiction. Confirm the exact freestanding service model in writing with the licensing division before signing a lease or committing capital.
How Much Does a Nevada Residential SUD Facility License Cost?
Under NAC 449.016 as amended by LCB File No. R071-26, filed 1 July 2026, the initial license fee for a facility for the treatment of alcohol or other substance use disorders is $837 per facility plus $203 per bed, and renewal is $418 per facility plus $102 per bed. A modified medical detoxification facility is a separate class at $10,657 per facility plus $529 per bed initially, and $5,329 per facility plus $264 per bed on renewal. A license modification or new license application is $268, and an increase in beds at an SUD facility is $268 plus $203 for each additional bed. Program certification is charged separately at $100 for each level of service, applied for per service at each geographic location, plus $50 for each geographic location certified with an endorsement. Older undated Nevada agency documents remain online displaying superseded fee figures, so verify the current amount against the controlling regulation or the licensing authority before remitting payment.
Does Nevada Require a Certificate of Need?
Nevada operates a conditional construction review rather than a statewide certificate of need, and both of the usual shorthand answers are wrong. Under NRS 439A.100 the review applies only in a county with a population under 100,000, or in an incorporated city or unincorporated town with a population under 25,000 located in a county of 100,000 or more, and then only to new-construction expenditure above the greater of $2,000,000 or an amount the Authority specifies by regulation. The $2,000,000 figure is not inflation-indexed. Ordinary Las Vegas and Reno projects generally fall outside the geographic gate, so the dollar threshold never becomes a live question for them. Smaller municipalities and rural sites need the analysis run on their own facts, and a small incorporated city or unincorporated town inside a large county can still be caught.
Does Nevada Require CARF or Joint Commission Accreditation?
No general accreditation mandate for Nevada state facility licensure or for state program certification was established, and no deemed-status provision was found in NAC 449 or NAC 458. Accreditation nevertheless becomes legally operative in one specific place. Where Nevada's facility-conditioned mandated SUD benefit applies, the qualifying structure is either program certification, or qualifying Nevada facility licensure together with accreditation by The Joint Commission or CARF International and operation of an SUD treatment program. So accreditation is not a licensing requirement, but it can sit on one of the two routes through a coverage-qualification gate, and it remains separately relevant to private payer credentialing.
How Long Does Nevada Licensing Take?
No statutory processing-time guarantee was identified for the facility license, and no dated official source supplies a typical duration, so no figure is published here. What can be said is what drives the sequence: site selection and local zoning, whether construction or plan review is triggered, fire review and the Certificate of Compliance, the completeness of the application and its supporting documents, the parallel certification track at a different agency, and readiness for the pre-licensure survey. One number is worth separating from all of this, because it is frequently misread as a timeline: the 120 days in NAC 449.085 is a showing that a new facility has sufficient resources to operate for that period. It is a financial-readiness requirement, not a licensing duration.
Settle the Service Model Before the Site
In Nevada the service model decides which license class applies, whether program certification is required, what the fee will be, which life-safety classification the building falls into, and whether the outpatient question is settled or needs a written determination. Those are answerable before a site is committed to — and the work can be scoped as licensing support alone.
Working across more than one state? The national licensing pillar carries the multi-state view and the other published jurisdiction guides, including Arizona and California. For the sector context behind these programs, see substance use treatment operations.